Oh, Canada!

[from my cousins]

photo

“Another Lovely Spring Day In Alberta”

[from me]

yeah…. dismal….

the only real experience I have with winter is when I was a student at Michigan . . . the sun pretty much disappeared in November . . . I remember, during my first year, my roommate – a beach volleyball player from San Diego who was studying Mandarin – the morning we first awoke to a gray, snow-covered world, he stared out the window of our third-floor-dorm room and, shaking his head, saying “f******k, f******k over and over.  the following year the digital clock on a downtown bank read -8F when I got off the bus for a morning class in February . . . something like -35F with the wind chill . . . always a California boy at heart, I tried to plan a barbecue for graduation – the first weekend in May. Two students who had grown up in Michigan said: “We can’t do that. It might snow.” I thought they were kidding. On Saturday, the day after graduation and my planned picnic day, it snowed.

Posted from St. Petersburg, Florida – April 18, 2014

Random Construction Site, St. Petersburg, Fla. April 17, 2014

Random Construction Site, St. Petersburg, Fla. April 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

